top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen Trewren

The start of my Churchill Fellowship adventure!

Updated: May 30, 2021

It’s now been 3 months since I received news that my application to become a 2018 Churchill Fellow was accepted and approved by the National Board of Directors and to say it’s been an overwhelming start would be an understatement.


I’ve started this blog as a way to keep those interested or connected with my Churchill Fellowship updated on my progress, while at the same time, hoping to capture the adventure as it unfolds.


To head back to where it began… the journey started early in 2018, with only a close circle of friends and mentors aware of my ambition to tackle an opportunity that for the most part I believed was beyond my capabilities. I’m grateful for the few that put the opportunity in front of my attention and encouraged me to apply. What started out as a very focused and restrictive (in words) written application, then lead into a 10-person panel interview in the middle of the year. In a strange way, the application journey that in reality went beyond 6 months, felt like it came and went so quickly, to the point where I didn’t often feel like there were long enough periods for the anxiety of the opportunity to really kick in. From the outset, I approached this fellowship process as a learning experience, one where I could refine my passions and interests, learn new skills in my application to opportunities and meet some inspiring people along the journey. It’s fair to say that upon reflection, I have certainly achieved that, and much more.

So what is my project? In receiving a Churchill Fellowship, I was also humbled to receive the Terry Lavender Churchill Scholarship. This scholarship was the result of the interest and commitment of many in the outdoors community here in SA. I’m so grateful to everyone who worked to bring about this opportunity, and then donate funds to ensure it could be awarded, none more so than Annie O’Connell. Being the recipient of this scholarship means a great amount to me as Terry is an ‘outdoors’ hero of mine. The scholarship scope was to provide a South Australian with an opportunity to follow their passion overseas to investigate ways to develop, improve, manage and promote outdoor recreational trails and pursuits. I’m going to fulfil this scholarship brief by exploring opportunities for trail destinations to attract and grow world class 'shared-use' interests. But what does attracting and growing world class 'shared-use' interests look like? For me, I’m hoping to lead others in uncovering solution-focused ideas to:

  • Activate and promote outdoor recreational trails to a diversity of users.

  • Engage more people, specifically young people, in community-focussed outdoor recreational activities.

  • Promote the social, physical and economic benefits of outdoor recreational trails.


I’m under no illusion of how lucky I am to be able to pursue an opportunity to further explore how my passion for engaging people, specifically young people, in outdoor recreation can be of multiple benefits to the community, not just here in South Australia, but globally. Presentation at Government House


Before the excitement of my research could get underway, I was invited to my first ever function at Government House to be officially presented with my Churchill Fellowship by the Governor of South Australia, Hieu Van Le. I’ve never taken for granted how prestigious, privileged or valuable receiving a Churchill Fellowship is, but having anything presented by the Governor does reinforce a sense of significance.


South Australian 2018 Churchill Fellows with Governor Hieu Van Le and Mrs Le and Ms. Alexandrea Cannon

Thanks so much to friends and family who were able to join me for the occasion, special thanks to Bruce Barnes, Operations Manager (and former boss) at Groovy Grape Tours and Greg Boundy, Executive Director at Walking SA for joining me. I’ll be forever grateful to both Bruce and Greg who provided very generous letters of reference to support my application. Their support and encouragement is something I can’t express my appreciation for. The following evening, Maddie and I were able to join past and current South Australian Churchill Recipients at the annual dinner. What an opportunity it was to be welcomed, to hear from returning 2017 fellows and meet past fellows and their partners who are continuing to do amazing things in the community. The dinner also gave me the opportunity to catch up again with Ann Lavender (Terry’s widow) which will forever be a real privilege. Ann was generous enough to give me some time over coffee soon after my fellowship success was announced. I’m not sure I could ever put into words the admiration I have for how she and Terry adventured through life. Ann shared stories, insights and advice, from their time adventuring together, to the times when she supported him when he went solo and most significantly, the three months they shared together while Terry undertook his own Churchill Fellowship in 1991.


With Ann Lavender at the SA Churchill Fellows Association Dinner

Beginning my research here at home


I’ve really enjoyed the many conversations I've had since I was awarded my Churchill Fellowship. One key component of my fellowship is that I want to depart Australia having spoken with and listened to as many relevant stakeholders as I possibly can. My motive for doing this is to ensure my fellowship is both collaborative, while also generating shared-value. I’m aspiring to do this by seeking to understand the current (and past) nature of the outdoor recreation landscape (excuse the pun) while also equipping myself with key questions currently being worked through by others in the outdoors industry. I'm determined for this fellowship to be of benefit to as many within the South Australian community. I’m very appreciative for many people, from different sectors including government, representative bodies, trail builders, clubs, commercial operators and others who are in some way connected to the outdoor industry who have generously given of their time, opinions and perspectives. To date, I’ve been grateful to connect with:

…and there are many more individuals and organisations already locked in for me to connect with early in 2019.


I've also attended meetings including:

What am I hearing?


It’s too early yet to start making conclusions, but there are many questions and areas of investigation starting to emerge which will shape a lot of interesting research going forward. Topics include but not limited to:

  • Trail signage

  • Private and public land access

  • Right of access and trail etiquette

  • Education of trail users

  • Facilitating multiple stakeholders in trail engagement

  • Trail management and maintenance

  • Rescue responses to trail incidents

  • Opportunities to support local economies

  • Engaging commercial opportunities to support public land use


Next steps and how you can get involved Currently, I’m working towards travelling overseas in the northern summer of mid-2019. My first stop is New Zealand, before then moving across to the United States of America and Canada, then onto the United Kingdom before concluding in Switzerland. Right up until I depart, I’ll be looking to continue having conversations with anyone who feels that they or someone they know may have a question to pose, opinion to share or perspective to consider. I’m especially excited to speak with anyone in roles of leadership or influence within the outdoors community to listen, learn and understand challenges, opportunities, strategies which you’re currently working through. Furthermore, if you have any suggestions or recommendations of people and/or organisations who may in some way be connected to my Churchill Fellowship project that I might be able to connect with while overseas, I would love to hear from you. I appreciate your interest in my Churchill Fellowship and look forward to sharing my next update in early 2019.

183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page