top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen Trewren

Week 7 - SWITZERLAND 🇨🇭

It’s been too long since I’ve blogged. There’s no excuse, but maybe an explanation... I’ve been busy and the mind and body haven’t always been able to keep up (getting food poisoning didn’t help)! Now only less than a week until I’m home from this epic adventure!


As I’ve made my way through the past 7 weeks, I’ve been so coincidentally lucky to have been shown and experienced numerous outdoor youth programs and projects. This was never my priority, or critical to my plans... it’s weird how things work out when your passions collide.

I’ve been so grateful to have learnt about, met with and even experienced some incredible youth programs and projects during this adventure. Coordinated by Government Departments, Local Authorities, Not for Profit Organisations, Universities and Schools and even Community Groups! Some have been specifically for young people, others have been where youth are playing a significant role in a much bigger picture.


What I’ve come to appreciate is that while I’ve always believed that young people are better off when outdoors, the outdoors is also better off when young people are actively participating in it. Better still it’s not an either/or situation, but rather one that goes hand in hand.


I’m aware that I can do myself a disservice by putting such a focus on young people. There are undoubtedly generational challenges faced by outdoor communities. Plenty of reasons, explanations, challenges and opportunities (a topic for another blog post or conversation). But for me when thinking about the outdoors, this is a topic that’s hard to ignore.

The Colinton Tunnel Project - a multi-generation opportunity engaging young people in revitalising their community trails through art.

Firstly, as someone in their late twenties, I still consider myself part of that team. But more importantly, because I’m passionate about reinforcing the value of connectivity to youth, building communities of purpose-driven people, through experiential outdoor adventure. We should all take responsibility for the future ahead of us, but young people have a significant role to play, not just for themselves, but for their communities, economies and natural environment.


I’ve pulled my thoughts together to consider what benefits young people and the outdoors can have, and for some, an explanation of how this might be able to happen.


  • The outdoors connects young people to nature and helps them understand its importance in sustaining and improving their quality of life.

  • Young people can advocate as stewards of the environment through conservation and sustainability.

  • Affords young people time and space to be their best self, in whatever way that looks like for them as an individual, who has their own unique strengths and abilities.

  • Reinforces the importance of social connections among not just young people themselves, but all generations of people. We have much to learn, appreciate and be inspired by.

  • Enterprising avenues that allow young people to invest in the community and for the community to invest in them. Once young people grasp that outdoor trails need economies, they’ll also see that economies can benefit from trails!

  • Young people deserve every chance to break away from everyday grinds to enjoy adventurous activities and opportunities. From a calm bushwalk to paddling raging whitewater.

  • Young people are more diverse and unique than ever which deserves celebration. The outdoors is a place for alternative pathways so they can express their unique talents and skills.

  • There is no greater training ground to develop employability skills and experience in using these skills than in the outdoors. Furthermore, connectivity among communities only further strengthens the exploration of career opportunities.

  • Outdoor experiences when shaped in a positive and progressive manner affirms both an individuals and a collectives confidence and worth.

  • Active recreation in the outdoors builds a young person’s physical health and strength. It reminds them of how sucking in the fresh air and raising a sweat can feel great for more than just the muscles.

  • When young people opt into sharing outdoor experiences with others, it supports them in engaging with a community and consequentially affords them a relaxed chance to grow their relationships in a social setting.

With recent rises in mental health challenges for young people, they’re hearing about the problem, but often struggle to find a pathway towards a solution. The outdoors is resonating with strategies to support and improve their mental health, often where and when many youths least expect it.


When I think back over the past 15 years from when I stepped into the first day of high school to now, I’m incredibly grateful for all the outdoor experiences and activities I’ve been afforded. In so many ways, I’ve been lucky to have had such opportunities.


I am concerned however that sometimes these outdoor opportunities can sometimes be distracted by the outcome rather than the process. Obviously, the setting is critical, such as competition will always be outcome focussed. But for the majority of the time, when outdoors, we’re engaged in recreational activities which allow us a chance to take a broader perspective on the process.

Fantastic couple of hours with Chris Loynes from University of Cumbria. Really challenged and encouraged my thinking around outdoor education and experiences for young people.

Everything I’ve mentioned above (and I’m sure I’ve either missed things or you can expand on my points), can only be explored with perspective. When we can sit back, and take a broader appreciation for what the outdoors can offer us, when we become interested in a level of connection to the process, rather than seeking to conquer outcomes, we’re without a doubt on the right trail to ensuring we maximise the value of outdoor experiences.


Going forward, I’m really excited to unpack what this all means for me. I’m thankful that the Fellowship has allowed me to connect with so many ‘youth’ organisations and people doing amazing things in this space (beyond the ones I already knew about). I also know I’m only scratching the surface in what I’ve discussed above. If you have any comments, advice, suggestions or recommendations, I’d love to hear them!


Here’s hoping we can build a future for all people (not just our young people) where we can appreciate how valuable the outdoors can be to us. It sure can teach us a thing or two about community, conservation, fun, stewardship, sustainability, health, adventure and much more!

 

What’s next?

After 8 weeks (or 60 days) travelling through 5 countries, meeting with over 90 organisations and/or people and having one insane adventure... I'll be home in Adelaide on Wednesday 🤞


I'm firstly looking forward to getting some rest and catching up with friends and family. But I won't be sitting still for too long, as I'm keen to continue reflecting on everything I have heard and seen across this epic journey so that I can make this experience valuable to not just myself but the community. The priority will be to bring my Churchill Fellowship Report together, but beyond that, while unknown, I'm excited for whatever comes next.


What I do know is that I've met some truly inspiring and highly talented people. I've learnt and experienced so much. I've gathered case-studies, successful examples and alternative ideas. I've developed ideas, options and possible solutions. I can't wait to (in time) unpack this via my report, with stakeholders in the community, through my blog, to interested others through any other means that arises.


This adventure certainly has not only reaffirmed my passion for the outdoors, but reminded me how critical its connection is to people and community. Most importantly, it's reinforced for me that there is serious value in learning and growing through outdoor experiences.

 

Thank you

Without people, this adventure wouldn't be the same. To those below, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy lives to spend it with me since my last update (Week 4). I am super grateful and really do look forward to staying in touch with you all.

  • Amy Kapp, Editorial Director & Editor-in-Chief of Rails to Trails, Rails-to-Trails Conservancy

  • Suzanne Matyas, Marketing & Social Media Manager, Rails-to-Trails Conservancy

  • Yvonne Mwangi, Trail Development and TrailLink Coordinator, Rails to Trails Conservancy

  • Rita Hennessy, Program Lead, Wild and Scenic Rivers & National Trails Systems, US National Park Service

  • Bob Ratcliffe, Division Chief - Conservation and Outdoor Recreation, US National Park Service

  • Stephan Nofield, Deputy Chief of Conservation and Outdoor Recreation Programs & National Leader for Rivers, Trails and Conservation Assistance Program, US National Parks Service

  • Stephen Morris, Chief - Office of International Affairs, US National Park Service

  • Laurie Potteiger, Information Services Manager, Appalachian Trail Conservancy

  • Anne Baker, Landscape Partnership Manager, Appalachian Trail Conservancy

  • Jordan Bowman, Communications Manager, Appalachian Trail Conservancy

  • Key Leaders connected to the Appalachian Trail from the Harpers Ferry and Bolivar Community.

  • Dave Tarasevich, Visitor Services Representative, Appalachian Trail Conservancy

  • Andrew Hall, Campaigns and Communications Officer, Campaign for National Parks

  • Paul Hamblin, Executive Director, National Parks England

  • Stephen Russell, Policy and Advocacy Officer, The Ramblers

  • Fiona Blackley, Programme Manager – Neighbourhoods and Networks, Sustrans

  • Carl Greenman, ’50 things’ Product Development Manager, National Trust UK

  • Penelope Chapple, Outdoors Experiences Manager, National Trust UK

  • Chris Loynes, Reader and Principle Researcher, University of Cumbria and Director, Threshold Consulting

  • Joe Williams, Business Development Manager, Cicerone Press

  • Niall Shannon, Network Engagement Manager - Network Development, Sustrans Scotland

  • Fiona Murray, Visitor Partnerships Manager, Forestry and Land Scotland

  • Bridget Jones, Strategic Paths and Projects Manager, Scottish Natural Heritage

  • Jacqueline Odermatt, Event Manager, UCI MTB World Cup Lenzerheide

  • Key Staff from UCI MTB World Cup Lenzerheide Events Team

  • Rafael Rhyner, Co-Owner and Trail Builder of UCI MTB World Cup Lenzerheide, Trailworks Biketrails & Wanderwege GmbH

Thanks also to the staff at the below retail stores for having a casual chat with me:

  • Cotswold Outdoors - London

  • BikePark Wales

  • Alpkit - Keswick

 

Follow Along

If you're not already, you can catch up on the day-to-day from my adventure by following along with me on social media. I've been posting daily updates with photos between these extended blog posts.


 

The Winston Churchill Trust

This opportunity to travel around the world, learn from international experts and share in once-in-a-lifetime experiences wouldn't be possible without the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust.

I'm especially grateful to the Trust, as well as those from the Churchill Fellows Association in South Australia and those who supported the establishment of the Terry Lavender Scholarship. To receive such a Fellowship, let alone this scholarship is a really humbling privilege and it is a real honour to be able to recognise Terry Lavender in this way.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page